Fircroft College of Adult Education | Birmingham, West Midlands

Functional Skills - English

Functional Skills English courses give you the essential skills needed for everyday life, work and education. They can build your practical knowledge as well as helping you to gain Functional Skills qualifications.

You will have the opportunity to discuss the possibility of taking the full Functional Skills qualification once you have completed the courses at the corresponding level.

How much does it cost?

These courses are FREE of charge for all learners, for more details go to our fee information page.

How can I apply?

You can apply online by following the links below, or find out how to apply for short courses. Please note: due to high demand, Functional Skills courses often fill up far in advance. If your first choice of date is full you may be offered a place on an alternative date or added to a waiting list until a place becomes available.

Learners applying for English courses will first be expected to undertake an online assessment.

Punctuation and Grammar
Mon 08/05/17 to Wed 10/05/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Read for Meaning
Fri 31/03/17 to Sun 02/04/17 Entry 3 Level
Wed 03/05/17 to Fri 05/05/17 Level 1
Wed 21/06/17 to Fri 23/06/17 Entry 3 Level
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Confidence With Spelling
There are currently no forthcoming dates confirmed for this course. Many of our short courses run several times a year - you can register your interest by contacting the short course office, email shortcourses@fircroft.ac.uk or call 0121 472 0116.
Course Leaflet
Write For Meaning
Mon 10/04/17 to Wed 12/04/17 Level 1
Wed 31/05/17 to Fri 02/06/17 Entry 3
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Advanced Punctuation and Grammar - NEW!
Wed 26/04/17 to Fri 28/04/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Advanced Spelling - NEW!
Wed 24/05/17 to Fri 26/05/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Speaking and Listening
Wed 14/06/17 to Fri 16/06/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Functional Skills - English
Site by Traffic