Fircroft College of Adult Education | Birmingham, West Midlands

Skills for Further Study

Skills for Further Study courses are aimed at students who are ready to work at Level 2 and can help further develop the skills needed for life, work and study. They can also provide some of the essential skills suitable for learners who wish to progress on to courses at Level 3 (particularly our Access to Higher Education Diploma) and possibly higher education after that. Tutors at Fircroft College use a variety of materials relevant to each subject in order for you to apply the skills you learn and to make the learning interesting and enjoyable. 

If you are just setting out on your learning journey, then you may want to start off with our Gateway Course, or Functional Skills English, Maths or ICT courses instead.

How much does it cost?

These courses are FREE of charge if you are claiming certain means-tested benefits, for more details go to our fee information page.

How can I apply?

You can apply online by following the links below, or find out how to apply for short courses. Learners applying for Skills for Further Study courses will first be expected to undertake an online assessment. Please note: All Skills for Further Study courses start at 4pm (arrive 3pm).

We will be running more Skills for Further Study courses from April 2017. These courses will appear on our website early in the new year, and will feature in the March to July 2017 course guide.

Critical Thinking
There are currently no forthcoming dates confirmed for this course. Many of our short courses run several times a year - you can register your interest by contacting the short course office, email shortcourses@fircroft.ac.uk or call 0121 472 0116.
Course Leaflet
Essay Writing
Wed 05/04/17 to Fri 07/04/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Creative Writing
Wed 10/05/17 to Fri 12/05/17
Wed 05/07/17 to Fri 07/07/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Introduction to Literature
Wed 31/05/17 to Fri 02/06/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Introduction to History
Mon 05/06/17 to Wed 07/06/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Introduction to Sociology
Mon 19/06/17 to Wed 21/06/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Introduction to Politics
Mon 03/07/17 to Wed 05/07/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Women Achievers
Wed 12/07/17 to Fri 14/07/17
Course Leaflet Apply Online
Site by Traffic